Home About Us Membership Events Trade Missions News & Media Bulletins Our Industry


 Return to Bulletin
OERA Webinar - March 22 - Advanced Coastal Mapping to Support Hydrodynamic Modelling
Posted: Mar 9, 2018

The OERA is proud to present a webinar series to highlight recent and ongoing research in the offshore energy sector in Nova Scotia.

The OERA webinar series is designed to help disseminate information on the research activities and results of projects in geoscience and marine renewable energy. Webinars are designed to be a forum for industry, researchers, regulators and community stakeholders to share information, get informed, and discuss research results and implications.

Our webinars are geared towards a broad audience with a balance between non-technical and scientific jargon, prioritizing research results and their implications for the development of the offshore energy sector.
Everyone is welcome to attend OERA's first live webinar and participate in the question and answer session with the presenter. Please follow the link below to register for the webinar. More information can be found here.

Thursday, March 22, 2018 at 1:00 pm Atlantic Time (AST)
(9 am Pacific; 12 noon Eastern; 4 pm GMT)

This webinar will present an innovative application of LIDAR mapping and ocean modeling technologies.

Nova Scotia’s Atlantic coast exhibits a variety of shorelines that may be vulnerable to contamination in the event of an offshore oil spill. In turn, variable currents, changing water levels, shoals, and exposed seaside conditions make effective spill response difficult for tidal inlets. These conditions also present risks to the health and safety of first responders with respect to secure access and safe navigation.

Join Dr. Tim Webster to learn how high-resolution imagery, topo-bathymetric LIDAR, and hydrodynamic modelling can be used to improve oil spill response planning and reaction in near coastal environments.

Webinar Registration Details
To Register (WEBEX Webinar System):
• Click “Register” (may have to scroll to bottom of page)
• On the registration form, enter your information and then click ‘Submit’.
Home About Us Membership Events Trade Missions News & Media Bulletins Our Industry
Join Now
Join to become more connected in the Energy industry.
Find a Member
Browse or search the member directory.
M2M Marketplace
Take advantage of member to member discounts offered only through the association.
Events Calendar
Take a look at the upcoming events of the Calendar of Events.
Privacy  |  Terms of Use

© 2018 The Maritimes Energy Association. All rights reserved.
Website Design by Amplify Media